Skip to content

12 days before Christmas 12 Lessons I’ve learned from pulling together the 12 Hope and Friendship Christmas Dinner Delivery Days- Day 5- When did we do it for you?

December 19, 2016

 

When I read this verse I see it written for here and now, for the Christmas Dinner Deliveries and all of the outreaches we do, have offered and hopefully will continue to unite to engage in. I have seen each and all of these offered and seen the hearts and spirits lifted. You have been Love offered right here, right now.

“For I was struggling to put food on my table and afford food for my kids during the winter and summer breaks and you gave me food, I was thirsty for the example of Christ to life me and you gave me drink by delivering a much need sack lunch with compassionate inspirational notes, I was a stranger and you welcomed me and showed up to help me with my lawn and yard work during Mission Stay Saturday, I was naked and you clothed me by offering what you didn’t need in your closet and helped me find clothing during your winter clothing drive for myself and my kids, I was sick and you visited me delivering meals to my home and notes that lifted my tired spirit and arrived at my door caroling during a most difficult holiday season, I was in prison depressed and lost on how I was going to find the resources and energy to prepare a Christmas Dinner and you came to me arms full of cooked food and gifts bring the light of love and the Lord into our hurting home.’  Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you or the children here in Lemont hungry and feed you, or thirsty and in need of your hope and love and give you drink?  And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you and tend to your yard work that you couldn’t complete, or naked and clothe you with clothing offered from one home to another?  And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you bringing you dinner that nourished your body and spirit?’  And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.” ~ (adapted from Matthew 25:35-40)

Want to be a part of this year’s Hope and Friendship Christmas Outreaches? Email terri@hopeandfriendshipfoundation.com

Visit www.hopeandfriendshipfoundation.com

~ Saturday December 17, 2016

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

