Skip to content

Are you just letting your toes get wet, or are you willing to dive in??

December 5, 2016

For the past 3 years I have been so very blessed to have a week in the sun, before the storm.  Terry and I have spent a week in Florida, unplugged and disengaged from the world around the end of September.  Beginning Oct 1st my end of the year crazy kicks into full speed and I barely catch a breath once I rise until I get to the finish line- December 26th.

When we are by the beach we do nothing; seriously, and wonderfully nothing.  We walk up and down the gulf until we rest and then later fall asleep sunned in a very welcomed type of tired.  It’s wonderful; simple and surrounded by God’s beauty.  Water, sand, and sunsets.  (Only sunsets- seeing sunrises would require less sleep!).

One thing I have enjoyed is the opportunity to read.  I take at least two books to digest.  Always of my favorite Christian motivational writers that truly live up to their calling.

When we sit beachside awaiting the sunset I read, meditate and form game plans.  This may or may not fall under the pretense of “doing nothing” but I relish in the quiet opportunity to gather my thoughts and be with God at the ebb and flow of His creation.  This past week by the beach, the weather was quite hot, 101-108 degree heat index.  I have little attention span when the weather is nice, when the weather is stifling I have even less focus.  I would put my book down often and get up to head toward the water.  I would stand at the edge and feel the comfort of the warm welcoming waves and begin to walk in.  I rarely hesitate to move forward, eventually diving under a wake of waves.  I always start with first allowing the water to wash over my feet. I watched many who simply felt satisfied to stay at that edge, but I knew I had only this week and this moment to enjoy the water, sand, waves and beauty.  Why would I stop at my toes?  I wanted to go all in every time knowing I wasn’t promised another time to soak in this feeling.

As I returned to my book, blanket and baking in the heat I thought about the calling.  For the past 3 years we have escaped to this peaceful week around my birthday.  It has been a gift and a blessing, a reprieve, a slower pace, unplugged and amazing company to enjoy it with!  When I return home it is the beginning of the last quarter of the year, a crazy time for me launching into the fall and holiday outreaches that consume every moment and every drop of energy.  This week has truly been the calm before the chaos.  The last three months of the year are a busy but wonderful time of allowing myself to be a conduit of all that can be offered to those who are in desperate need of the kindness and generosity.  To be a revolving door from those who can to those that need is a blessing from one who created me to be able to handle it.

The need is truly all year long but for many the calling is only heard during the season of Christmas, therefore you dive in and know that you give it all now for the greater cause and as the reason for the season.

We could all easily let just our toes get wet.

We could offer our donation at church, or drop a couple dollars in the donation kettle and know we’ve done “good”.

But what more would it take for us to dive in?

That feeling is oh so much more refreshing!

 

As the Hope and Friendship Foundation seasonal outreaches approach I ask you to think about how much more refreshed and renewed you would like to feel?  Why stop at your toes?

For the past 11 years I have lived to communicate the needs of those within your arms’ reach.

Right here, right now.

Basic needs.

Financial, emotional and physical needs to meet, to lift, to gift hope and love to.

Winter Clothing.

Thanksgiving Turkeys and some fixings to go alongside of that turkey.

Christmas Care Boxes/Bags filled with personal care, cleaning products and paper products.

Items to create a fully cooked Christmas Dinner delivered on Christmas Day.

The emotional, physical, and financial needs of your neighbor are often so very basic yet so devastating to their household.  They may not impact your life directly, however your commitment to diving in to the outreaches that will help them will completely and powerfully affect theirs.

Join me.

The warmth of the feeling of submerging yourself in meeting the needs of others right here, right now is an amazingly refreshing experience.  I have grown to love the feeling of letting the waves rush over me and watching the ripples reach so far around me.

I would love for you to dive in with me!

 

How can you help?

*Donate a personal care product (face, hair, body), cleaning supplies (soaps, softeners, cleansers, rags, sponges), paper products (napkins, paper plates, toilet paper, paper towels, tissue boxes).  Drop them off by Sunday December 18th to the bins in the lobby at the Lemont Police Dept or at Lemont Township Office (behind Chipain’s).

*Drop off a cooked dish in serving sizes for 4 persons (in a disposable container) to the Lemont Township Office (behind Chipain’s) on Christmas Day between 11:30-1:30pm:  Side dishes, veggie dishes, pasta, potatoes, bread/butter, salads, desserts etc.

Come by at 1:30pm on Christmas Day if you want to help assemble the  meals.

Come by at 3pm if you want to help deliver the Christmas Dinners and Care Boxes/Bags.

*Make a donation to our Pay Pal on our website www.hopeandfriendshipfoundation.com to help fund the outreach and the crisis assistance that we offer when we have the means to offer it.

Wishing you peace, love and happiness through this Christmas Season and the New Year,
Terri

Terri O’Neill-Borders

Email me to continue to hear of the outreaches- terri@hopeandfriendshipfoundation.com
Website to keep up with the outreaches- www.hopeandfriendshipfoundation.com
Wordpress to read more- https://hopeandfriendshipfoundation.wordpress.com/

Hope and Friendship Foundation
721 Hickory St, Lemont, IL  60439
630-816-4972

“Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute.  Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy.”
Proverbs 31: 8-9

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

